

SYDNEY AMATEUR SAILING CLUB

SAILING INSTRUCTIONS V1.2 Winter Series 2025

1. RULES

1.1. CONDUCT OF RACING

The racing will be governed by:

- a) the current World Sailing (WS) Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS) (2025-2028)
- b) the Prescriptions and Safety Regulations of Australian Sailing (AS) (2025-2028)
- c) the Maritime Safety (General) Regulation 2016
- d) these Sailing Instructions; and
- e) General Sailing Instructions for SASC events

In the event of conflict between the RRS and the Sailing Instructions, the Sailing Instructions will prevail.

2. SCHEDULE OF RACES

- Race 1 Saturday 3rd May 2025
- Race 2 Saturday 17th May 2025
- Race 3 Saturday 31st May 2025
- Race 4 Saturday 14^h June 2025
- Race 5 Saturday 5th July 2025
- Race 6 Saturday 19th July 2025

3. ELIGIBILITY

This series is open to monohull, self-righting yachts with a minimum length of five metres. Boats will enter in divisions based on handicapping requirements.

4. SCORING:

4.1. Scoring System

The Low Point scoring system, RRS Appendix A, applies subject to the following amendments:

4.2. Non-competing

A boat scored Did Not Compete (DNC) shall be awarded points equal to the number of point score entries in the race plus one point. if a yacht doesn't race in the first 2 races they will be changed to a casual entry to not affect the point score.

4.3. Non-starting

A boat scored Did Not Start (DNS), On Course Side (OCS), Retired (RET) shall be awarded points equal to the number of point score starters in the race plus one point.

4.4. Non-finishing

A boat scored Did Not Finish (DNF) shall be awarded points equal to the number of point score finishers plus one point.

4.5. Disqualification

Boats which are disqualified (DSQ) shall be awarded points equal to the number of point score starters in the race plus two points.

4.6. Abandonment

When a race is abandoned after the start and not re-sailed, boats that started shall be scored DNF. Boats that did not start will be scored DNC. When a race is abandoned before the start, the race shall be shown as ABN and all boats entered shall be awarded zero points.

5. DISCARDS

A boat may drop any one (1) race, unless fewer than six (6) races are completed, no score will be excluded.

6. HANDICAPPING

Handicaps will be derived from the extensive SailSys PHS database. Existing boats will use past handicaps for the same or similar race series. New boats (not in the SailSys database) entering a race or this series will use handicaps from like boats or an independently derived handicap. If it becomes apparent that the starting handicap for a boat is not suitable, then it may be altered at the discretion of the Club Captain.

7. STARTING TIMES AND SIGNALS

Starting signals will be in accordance with RRS Rule 26.

The scheduled time of the warning signal for each division is as follows:

SCHEDULED TIME (WARNING SIGNAL)	DIVISION	WARNING SIGNAL (FLAG DISPLAYED)
11:25	Division 1 Spinnaker	W
11:30	Division 2 Classic Spinnaker	С
11:35	Division 3 Non-Spinnaker	L
11:40	Division 4 Classic Non-Spinnaker J	

8. STARTING AND FINISHING LINES – <u>NEW FOR 2025</u>

Course	Wind Direction	Start	Finish
A & M	N & NE Winds	West of Clark Island	Athol Bight
В	W Winds	West of Shark Island	Athol Bight
G	SE Winds	Shell Cove	Athol Bight
Q	E Winds	Shell Cove	Athol Bight
0	S, SW & SSE Winds	Athol Bight	Athol Bight
Z	NW Winds	West of Shark Island	Athol Bight

9. COURSES – <u>NEW FOR 2025</u>

The course flag will be displayed with or before the first warning signal and will continue to be displayed throughout the starting sequence. All marks are rounded to starboard unless otherwise indicated. (P) denotes port hand rounding. **Courses may be shortened at any mark as per RRS Rule 32.**

А	START-LB-SM-PP-OB-EC-SM-N3-FINISH 10.6 nm
М	START-MW-ME-EC-SM-BB-PPN3-FINISH 12.9 nm
В	START-NM(P)-RB-N2-EC-SM-N3 -FINISH 10.8 nm
G	START-RB-NM(P)-SM-TB-RB-CB-SM-N3-FINISH 12.8 nm
Q	START-RB-NM(P)-SM-N2-RB-N3-FINISH 11.1 nm
0	START-GI(P)-OB-SM-GHRBSM-N3-FINISH 10.3 nm
Z	START-NM(P)-N3-A(P)-Goat Is.(P)-Longnose Point(P)-Cockatoo Is.(P)- Spectacle Is.(P)-Snapper Is.(P)- FINISH

DIVISION 1 SPINNAKER & DIVISION 2 CLASSIC SPINNAKER

DIVISION 3 NON-SPINNAKER and DIVISION 4 CLASSIC NON-SPINNAKER

A	Start-LB-SM-EC-SM-N3-FINISH 9.3 nm
М	START- MW-ME-EC-SM-PP-N3-FINISH 9.8 nm
В	START-NM(P)-RB-SM-N3-EC-SM-N3-FINISH 10.1nm
G	START-RB-NM(P)-SM-N2-SM-N3-FINISH 10.5 nm
Q	START-RB-NM(P)-SM-N3-SM-N3-FINISH 9.9 nm
0	START-GI(P)-OB-EC- SM-GH–PP-N3- FINISH 9.9 nm
Z	START-NM(P)A(P)-Goat Is.(P)-Longnose Point(P)-Cockatoo Is.(P)-Spectacle Is.(P)-Snapper Is.(P)-FINISH

10. TIME LIMIT

Provided that one yacht in a division has finished by 1430 then the remaining yachts in that Division will be finished until 1500. The decision as to when to leave the Finish Line shall be at the sole discretion of the Starter on the Committee Vessel.

11. BOATS RETIRING

Boats retiring from a race shall notify the Committee Vessel - Kareela by hailing, on VHF 73 or calling the Starter's mobile 0419 625 883.

Trophies Awarded:

Division 1 - Spinnaker	Currawong Cup
Division 2 - Classic Spinnaker	Brothers Trophy
Division 3 - Non-Spinnaker	Bryan Kirkwood Memorial Trophy
Division 4 – Classic Non-Spinnaker	Gale Trophy