Special Events

SASC Special Events

In addition to regular weekend and twilight racing, The Amateurs hosts a number of annual and individual special events – both on and off the water.

Water Women Rally 2020

In December 2020 we held out first rally for women to give women the opportunity to develop confidence and enjoy a relaxed day sailing.  Fine, sunny weather and 30 knots!  Enjoy the photos – if you would like to join us for more women’s events in 2021 contact our Club Captain – Alice Murphy

WaterWomen Rally Flyer

Annual Prizegiving

Our Prizegiving is a special event for skippers and crew who won a series or trophy race throughout the season.  We also recognize the contribution of our volunteers.  A list of the 2017-18 Trophy winners can be downloaded: Perpetual Trophies 2017-18

The Daydream Shield

The Daydream Shield Interclub Regatta between Sydney Amateur Sailing Club and Middle Harbour Yacht Club was hosted by MHYC in 2019.  Three two-of-a-kind fleet races were conducted for the J24, Farr 30 and Melges 32 classes with one of each class from MHYC and SASC. Maxstar (Brian McConaghy) 5 to 6 (Martin Dare) and Calypso Magic (Graham Turner) represented SASC.    After 3 close races with MHYC winning two and SASC winning the final race, the Shield was retained by MHYC.

The Kelly Cup – Club Championship

Competitors in the Club Championship comprise the first, second and third placegetters from all divisions of SASC spring & summer pointscore series.

The Kelly Cup is awarded to first place, second place is awarded the Tara Ipo trophy, and third place is awarded the Brooker Trophy.